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HEALTH CARE PROVIDER ASSESSMENTS 

 
 

I. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 
Arizona Laws 2009, Third Special Session, Chapter 10, Section 29 requires the Arizona 
Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) to review and report on health care 
provider assessments to the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of 
Representatives and the Governor.  Specifically, the AHCCCS Administration must: 
 

• Analyze a variety of methods for provider assessments for federally matched 
programs;  

• Examine the potential for enhanced revenue generated based on hospital patient 
stays;  

• Review what has been done in other states; and  

• Consider a distribution formula for all hospital providers.  
 
 

II. SUMMARY  

 
1. Medicaid is a federal/state partnership financed jointly by state and federal 
government.  The federal government acknowledges as part of the established regulatory 
structure that states have a right to impose taxes on providers and insurers.  
 
2. To ensure that states are not attempting to circumvent their obligations for paying 
the non-federal share of the cost of Medicaid, federal law requires that state provider 
taxes must be broad based, uniformly imposed, and cannot hold a provider harmless – 
that is, states may not create a mechanism for ensuring that the taxpayer is repaid for all 
or any portion of the cost of the tax, whether directly or indirectly. 
 
3. There are three tests for determining whether taxpayers are held harmless: a 
positive correlation test, a Medicaid payment test, and a guarantee test.  If any of these 
conditions are met, the tax program would be determined to have a hold harmless 
provision and the tax would be impermissible.  The guarantee test is not violated if the 
taxes produce revenues that are less than or equal to 5.5% of the provider’s net patient 
revenues. 
 
4. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), AHCCCS’ federal 
oversight agency, would need to review any provider tax prior to implementation.  That 
process would include a review of the tax’s impact on budget neutrality. 
 
5. Currently, 44 states have some type of provider assessment.  In 2009, 23 states 
taxed inpatient hospitals, 28 states taxed ICF/MR-DD, 35 taxed nursing facilities, and 16 
taxed managed care organizations. 
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6. Arizona currently has a health insurer tax based on 2% of premium revenues.  
From 2003 through 2008, the premium tax on Arizona’s Medicaid health insurers has 
generated $575 million.  Increasing that tax by 1% would yield an additional $161 
million, depending on which premiums were ultimately included. 
 
7. Another form of provider assessment is a tax on a percentage of hospital or 
nursing facility revenues.  A 1% tax on hospital net revenues would yield approximately 
$107 million.  A 1% tax on net revenues from Arizona nursing facilities would yield 
approximately $10.8 million.   
 
8. Also, a per-bed tax can be assessed on hospitals or nursing facilities.  A $2,000 
per bed/per year tax would generate about $25 million per year from hospitals and about 
$31.5 million per year from nursing facilities. 
 
9. Any distribution formula that returns any portion of the revenues raised from the 
provider assessment would need to be approved by CMS and cannot violate federal 
requirements. 
 
10. Any potential provider assessment legislation must address the following policy 
issues: 

• What provider types should be assessed? 

• At what level should they be assessed? 

• How should the revenues generated by a tax be distributed? 
 
 

III. GENERAL POLICY CONSIDERATIONS  

 
The experience in other states suggests that provider taxes can serve as an important 
revenue stream, particularly during economic downturns when states experience 
significant increases in Medicaid enrollment.  Different models analyzed in this paper 
show that Arizona could gain significant revenue from application of a new provider tax 
or expansion of the existing premium tax.  However, before reviewing the details of how 
provider taxes work and what the benefits to Arizona might be in terms of enhanced 
revenue, it is important to consider certain policy objectives and administrative issues.   
 
Listed below are only some of the issues that can be considered.  This list offers some 
very broad concepts and is not intended to be all inclusive.  Also, the concepts below are 
not mutually exclusive – i.e. provider assessments can share multiple goals, a variety of 
structures and include more than one provider type. 
 
What is the timing of the provider assessment? 

• Is this a permanent tax? 

• Is this a temporary tax designed to provide an alternative revenue source during 
economic downturns? 
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How should the provider tax be structured? 

• Will taxes be applied to gross or net revenues? 

• What is the level at which a tax would be applied (in consideration of budget 
neutrality requirements)? 

• Which provider type should be included in the tax – hospitals, nursing facilities, 
managed care organizations – or should more than one provider type be included? 

• Will any provider type be exempted from the tax? 
 
What would be the stated goal(s) of the provider tax?   

• Reduce the General Fund liability for Medicaid program costs by a specified 
dollar amount?  Establish, for instance, a dollar amount, enrollment threshold or 
percentage of the overall General Fund budget that policymakers believe the 
General Fund can sustain for the Medicaid program, and then use provider tax 
revenues to cover costs that go beyond the set threshold. 

• Provide relief to the General Fund by using provider tax revenue to supplant 
funding for existing programs – e.g., KidsCare? 

• Address provider workforce shortage issues by funding increased Graduate 
Medical Education programs? 

• Increase or stabilize provider reimbursement rates – e.g., increase hospital 
inpatient or outpatient rates or avoid reducing hospital rates? 

• Reduce uncompensated care costs by increasing Disproportionate Share Hospital 
payments? 

• Establish a foundation for funding future coverage expansions that may be 
mandated through federal healthcare reform legislation? 

 
How should the tax be administered? 

• Who is the administering agency – AHCCCS, Arizona Department of Revenue, 
etc.? 

• How will administrative costs be allocated? 
 
Policymakers can choose among several types of provider assessments and select among 
various options for how best to use the enhanced revenue – reducing the State’s General 
Fund liability for the Medicaid program, funding non-Medicaid programs, reducing 
uncompensated care, stabilizing or increasing provider reimbursement rates.  Provider 
taxes can also be used as an alternate revenue source when the General Fund liability for 
the Medicaid program exceeds a certain threshold.  Ultimately, it is a policy decision for 
the legislature and the Executive to determine the ways in which revenues raised by 
provider taxes can be used and redistributed and these different directions should be 
considered while weighing the options.   
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IV. FEDERAL RULES GOVERNING PROVIDER TAXES 

 
A. General Background 

 
Federal law permits states to collect revenues from specified categories of health care 
providers or services and use those revenues to fund various activities, including pay a 
portion of the state’s share of the Medicaid program.  Federal matching dollars can be 
used to raise provider rates, fund other costs of the Medicaid program or for other non-
Medicaid purposes, including depositing the funds into the state’s general treasury. 
 
In order to be able to draw down federal financial participation, provider taxes must meet 
detailed requirements in federal law and regulation.1  Broadly speaking, Congress 
established the federal requirements to address state attempts to circumvent their share of 
Medicaid program costs.  Thus, federal law addresses the issue of states “borrowing” 
their share of the Medicaid cost from providers who subsequently were paid back their 
portion of the tax in the form of increased Medicaid payments, for which the state 
claimed federal matching dollars.  Federal law also prohibits provider taxes from 
exceeding 25% of the state’s share of Medicaid expenditures.2 
 
B. Classes of Health Care Services and Providers Subject to Tax 

 
Health care-related taxes are fees, assessments or other mandatory payments related to 
(1) health care items or services; (2) the provision of health care items or services or (3) 
the payment for health care items or services.3  A tax will be considered to be related to 
health care items or services if at least 85% of the burden of the tax revenue falls on 
health care providers.4   

 

Health care-related taxes can be applied to 19 specified classes of providers that provide 
health care items or services specifically listed in federal regulation.  Some of those 
services include: 
 

• Inpatient hospital services; 

• Outpatient hospital services; 

• Nursing facility services; 

• Intermediate Care Facility services for the mentally retarded or developmentally 
disabled (ICF/MR-DD); 

• Physician services; 

• Home health care services; 

                                                           
1 Congress addressed concerns regarding various mechanisms for implementing provider taxes in 1991 
through the Medicaid Voluntary Contribution and Provider-Specific Tax Amendments (P.L. 102-234), 
amending Section 1903(w) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C § 1396b(w)).  Those laws were later 
revised through the Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006 (P.L. 109-432).  These laws, along with 
corresponding federal regulations (42 C.F.R. § 433.54 through 433.74), provide the authority and 
guidelines for states electing to adopt provider taxes. 
2 42 USC § 1396b(w)(5)(A). 
3 42 CFR § 433.55.  
4 42 CFR § 433.55(b).   
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• Outpatient prescription drugs; and 

• Services of managed care organizations (including health maintenance 
organizations and preferred provider organizations).5 

 
A tax of any particular class of service or provider of such service must apply uniformly 
to all items/services or providers within that class.6  This rule prevents states from 
limiting provider taxes solely to Medicaid providers who can easily be held harmless 
through increased Medicaid payments.   
 
C. Conditions for Imposing Provider Taxes 

 
If the tax is not “health-care related” as defined above, then the State would not need to 
comply with the rules below.  Otherwise, in order to be permissible under federal law, 
provider taxes must be: 
 

• Broad based; 

• Uniformly imposed; and 

• Cannot violate the hold harmless provisions. 
 

1. Broad Based 
 
A provider tax is “considered to be broad based if the tax is imposed on at least all health 
care items or services in the class or providers of such items or services” and is imposed 
uniformly.7   
 

2. Uniformly Imposed 

 
Generally, a health care-related tax will be considered to be imposed uniformly if the tax 
is the same amount for every provider furnishing those items or services within the class.8  
For instance, if the tax is based on the number of hospital beds, then the amount of the tax 
must be the same for each bed of each hospital.  If the tax is based on provider revenue, 
then the rate at which gross revenues or net operating revenues are taxed must be the 
same for all services (or providers of those services) in the class.   
 
Uniformity is not established where the tax (a) provides for credits or deductions that 
result in the return to providers of all, or a portion, of the tax paid and (b) results, directly 
or indirectly, in a tax that is not generally redistributive and the amount of the tax is 
directly correlated to payments under the Medicaid program.  The uniformity requirement 
is also violated where the tax holds taxpayers harmless for the cost of the tax.9 

                                                           
5 42 CFR § 433.56(a). 
6 42 CFR § 433.56(b). 
7 42 CFR § 433.68(c). 
8 42 CFR § 433.68(d)(1). 
9 42 CFR § 433.68(d)(2). 
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3. Hold Harmless Provisions 
 
The hold harmless provisions were established to ensure that the tax paid by providers is 
not returned to them such that they are made whole or “held harmless.”  There are three 
tests for determining whether taxpayers are held harmless: a positive correlation test, a 
Medicaid payment test, and a guarantee test.  If any of these conditions are met, the tax 
program would be determined to have a hold harmless provision and the tax would be 
impermissible.  These three conditions are explained more fully below.  
 

a. Positive Correlation Test 
 
The positive correlation test is met when the state makes a direct or indirect non-
Medicaid payment to the taxpayer and the amount of the payment is “positively 
correlated to either the tax amount or to the difference between the Medicaid payment 
and the tax amount.”10  These payments may take various forms, such as tax credits or 
grants, and “direct or indirect” is interpreted broadly.  CMS provides the following 
example: 
 

A positive correlation would exist “where a state passes a tax on 
nursing home beds that a facility is permitted to pass on to its 
residents in the form of rate increases.  If at or about the same time, 
the state passes a grant program that pays private pay residents of 
the nursing home an amount similar to the bed tax, the grant 
money would be available for use to compensate the nursing 
facility for the tax and a positive correlation would be found to 
exist between the tax and the grants.  The correlation would not be 
destroyed by altering one variable over time and would not 
necessarily need to be measured in a statistical sense.”11 

 
The above cited example results in a hold harmless for the nursing home because there is 
a “reasonable expectation” that the grant monies going to the nursing home residents will 
be returned to the nursing home as increased fee payments.   
 
Similarly, the hold harmless provisions would find a violation of the positive correlation 
test and the guarantee test where a payment is made to a taxpayer as long as the payment 
is from a source “controlled or directed by the state.”12  For instance, “States will not be 
permitted to recycle monies through third parties, by making payments to such third 
parties and requiring that the money be used to reimburse taxpayers for any portion of 
their health care related tax.”13 

                                                           
10 42 CFR § 433.68(f)(1). 
11 73 Fed. Reg. 9685, 9691 (Feb. 22, 2008). 
12 73 Fed. Reg. 9685, 9694 (Feb. 22, 2008). 
13 Id. 
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b. Medicaid Payment Test 
 
The Medicaid payment test is met when all or any portion of the Medicaid payment to the 
taxpayer varies based only on the tax amount, including conditioning Medicaid payment 
on receipt of the tax amount.14  States are permitted to use tax revenues to fund provider 
reimbursement for the provision of covered services.  Reimbursement, however, cannot 
be based on the receipt of provider taxes.  This test is designed to guard against 
effectively repaying taxpayers and protect the integrity of the development of sound 
Medicaid payment rates consistent with efficiency, economy and quality of care.15  
 

c. Guarantee Test and Safe Harbor 
 
A tax program will be impermissible if it meets the guarantee test.  This test is met when 
the state imposing the tax provides for any direct or indirect payment, offset or waiver 
that directly or indirectly guarantees to repay the taxpayer for all or any portion of the tax 
amount.16  Federal law creates a “safe harbor” from the prohibition against guaranteeing 
return of tax funds.  If the taxes produce revenues that are less than or equal to 5.5% of 
the provider’s net patient revenues, the tax is permissible under the guarantee test.17 
 

4. Waiver from Broad Based and Uniformity Requirements 

 
A state may be waived only from the broad-based and uniformity requirements if the tax 
program meets all of the following: 

a. The net impact of the tax and any payments made to the provider is  
 generally redistributive; 
b. The amount of the tax is not directly correlated to Medicaid payments; and 
c. The tax program does not fall within the hold harmless provisions.18 

 
Federal regulations detail a statistical test that measures the degree to which the Medicaid 
program incurs a greater tax burden than if these requirements were met.  There is no 
waiver of the hold harmless provisions. 

                                                           
14 42 CFR § 433.68(f)(2). 
15 See 73 Fed. Reg. 9685, 9692-94 (Feb. 22, 2008). 
16 42 CFR § 433.68(f)(3).  “A direct guarantee will be found when a State payment is made available to a 
taxpayer or a party related to the taxpayer in the reasonable expectation that the payment would result in 
the taxpayer being held harmless for any part of the tax. An indirect guarantee is distinct from a direct 
guarantee in that such guarantee is initially measured by a percentage threshold that limits tax collection to 
5.5 percent of patient revenue attributable to the assessed service.  States collecting a tax in excess of 5.5 
percent of assess patient service revenue must perform the second prong of the hold harmless test to 
demonstrate permissibility.”  73 Fed. Reg. 9685, 9695 (Feb. 22, 2008).  The second prong of the test is 
known as the 75/75 test, which will find a hold harmless to exist if 75% or more of the taxpayers in the 
class receive 75% or more in enhanced Medicaid payments or other state payments.  42 CFR § 
433.68(f)(3)(i)(B).   
17 42 CFR § 433.68(f)(3)(i)(A).  The safe harbor percentage was changed from 6% to 5.5% for the period of 
January 1, 2008 through September 30, 2011, but will revert back to 6% after that period ends. 
18 42 CFR § 433.72.  See also 42 CFR § 433.68(e) for a definition of “generally redistributive.” 
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D. Federal Review and the Role of Budget Neutrality 

 
Any new provider tax that seeks to draw down federal Medicaid matching funds will 
have to be reviewed and approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS).  CMS serves as the federal oversight agency for the AHCCCS program.  The 
timing of CMS review will depend on the complexity of the provider assessment, but can 
take anywhere from six months to over a year. 
 
One of the issues CMS will review as part of any analysis regarding the imposition of a 
new provider tax is the impact any additional spending will have on the State’s estimate 
for Budget Neutrality.  Budget Neutrality is a requirement of the current 1115 waiver that 
governs the AHCCCS program.  CMS mandated a spending cap as part of waiver 
negotiations resulting from the voter approved initiative Proposition 204 in 2000.  From 
April 1, 2001 until September 30, 2006 the entire Acute Care program and 
Disproportionate Share Hospital payments had to be managed within a total spending 
limit.   
 
When the State had to renegotiate the waiver in 2006, the Budget Neutrality requirements 
were expanded to include Long Term Care.  The Special Terms and Conditions of the 
waiver currently state that “if at the end of this Demonstration period the overall budget 
neutrality expenditure cap has been exceeded, the excess Federal funds must be returned 
to CMS.”  AHCCCS has been able to maintain an overall positive Budget Neutrality 
variance.  AHCCCS is currently projecting that the variance at the end of the current 
waiver period, which terminates on September 2011, will be a positive $129 million.  It 
should be noted that these estimates are being made on over $60 billion in total spending.  
While a significant portion of that spending has already occurred, it is still an 
insignificant balance given the overall scope of the waiver.  Additional details on this 
estimate have been provided at Appendix A to the report. 
 
If a policy decision is made to pursue additional provider taxes, this will result in an 
increase in Medicaid spending.  The current limited positive variance in Budget 
Neutrality will need to be incorporated into the potential level of provider tax that could 
be assessed.  Given current projections, the impact on Medicaid spending should 
probably be limited to the current Budget Neutrality limits. 
 
There are two additional items regarding Budget Neutrality that should be identified.  The 
first is that since the current period ends on September 2011, AHCCCS is unsure how 
future obligations will be scored against Budget Neutrality.  The second is that federal 
healthcare reform may significantly alter the type of Budget Neutrality requirements 
CMS may impose in future waiver discussions. 
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V. STATE SURVEY OF PROVIDER ASSESSMENTS 

 
Provider assessments are an option for states needing to raise revenue.  Currently, 44 
states have some type of provider assessment.  For Fiscal Year (FY) 2010, that number 
will be 45.  A survey conducted for the Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the 
Uninsured found that, as compared to FY 2008, an additional seven states are expected to 
have hospital taxes in FY 2010 and four more states added a tax on nursing facilities.19 In 
addition, many states have increased the size of existing provider taxes.  The Kaiser 
Commission state survey table is attached at Appendix B of this report.20 
 
This report highlights four states – California, Colorado, Illinois and Oregon – and 
provides a brief overview of provider taxes in those states.  
 
A. California 

 
California currently has a provider tax on intermediate care facilities for the 
developmentally disabled and skilled nursing facilities (SNFs).  The tax is assessed on 
aggregate net revenue but is not to exceed the safe harbor threshold.21  Revenues are used 
to enhance federal financial participation in the Medi-Cal program, California’s Medicaid 
program, to provide additional reimbursement or support facility quality improvement 
efforts. 
 
In addition, California assesses a gross premium tax on insurers (generally defined as 
property insurance, life insurance, casualty insurance, some preferred provider 
organizations and some point of service plans).  That tax is set at 2.35% of annual gross 
premiums and is in lieu of all other taxes and licenses upon insurers and their property.22 
 
California also had in place a tax on its Medi-Cal managed care plans.  The fee on 
managed care plans was set at 5.5% of revenues.  The net increase in revenue was 
deposited into the state general fund and for 2008-09 was estimated at $238.8 million in 
Total Funds.  The provider tax on Medicaid managed care plans was not in compliance 
with recent changes in federal law requiring provider fees to be broad based and 
uniformly imposed – that is the tax could not be levied only on managed care plans 
enrolled in the Medicaid program.   
 

                                                           
19 Vernon K. Smith, Ph.D., et al, Kaiser Family Foundation, The Crunch Continues: Medicaid Spending, 

Coverage and Policy in the Midst of a Recession; Results from a 50-State Medicaid Budget Survey for State 

Fiscal Years 2009 and 2010, 32-33 (September 2009).  
20 For additional state specific information, go to the National Conference of State Legislatures at 
http://www.ncsl.org/IssuesResearch/Health/HealthProviderandIndustryFeesandTaxes/tabid/14359/Default.a
spx.  
21 For assessment on intermediate care facilities, see Cal Health & Saf. Code § 1324. to 1324.14 (2009); for 
assessment on SNFs see Cal Health & Saf. Code §§ 1324.20 to 1324.30 (2009).  California has a waiver 
exempting some types of SNFs, such as continuing care retirement communities and SNFs operated by the 
state or another public entity. 
22 This tax is established in California’s constitution, Section 28, Article XIII. 
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Due to its fiscal crisis, California was facing a near $200 million dollar shortfall in its 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), known as the Healthy Families program 
(KidsCare, in Arizona).  That shortfall would have resulted in the disenrollment of about 
600,000 children.  To address the CHIP shortfall, California applied the gross premiums 
tax to Medi-Cal managed care plans.23  Because the gross premiums tax is an existing tax 
on a broad group of insurers, the overwhelming majority of which are not health care 
insurers, it can be extended to Medi-Cal managed care plans without being considered a 
provider fee under federal law.  Applying the tax was estimated to yield $97 million and 
was supported by the health plans.  California can use revenues raised from the gross 
premiums tax as the source of state matching funds without having to meet the federal 
provider tax rules. 
 
 
B. Colorado 

 
On April 21, 2009, Governor Bill Ritter signed HB1293 into law.  Pending CMS 
approval, this law established a provider fee on all hospital inpatient and outpatient 
services.  Revenues generated from the fee are intended to: increase hospital 
reimbursement; reduce the number of uninsured through program expansions to medical 
assistance programs; and pay costs associated with administering the provider fee, 
together with the expansions. 
 
In accordance with the legislation, the rate for the new fees shall be established by an 
Advisory and Oversight Board, consisting of thirteen members appointed by the 
Governor and confirmed by the State Senate.  In conducting their fiscal analysis for the 
proposed legislation, the Colorado Legislative Council hypothesized that the Advisory 
and Oversight Board would levy the new fee at a rate of 3% of aggregate net revenue.  
Based on this rate, the Legislative Council staff estimated that the new hospital provider 
fee would generate $336.4 million in FY 2009-2010 and $389.5 million in FY 2010-
2011.  From this, Colorado would be eligible to receive up to $600 million in federal 
matching funds. 
 
Currently, Colorado hospitals are reimbursed for Colorado Indigent Health Care Services 
at a rate of 90-92% of the Medicare rate for inpatients services and 72% for outpatient 
services.  The legislation directs revenues from the provider fee to increase hospital 
reimbursements from the Colorado Indigent Care Program up to 100% of the hospitals’ 
costs.  The legislation also specifies that revenues shall be utilized to maximize inpatient 
and outpatient reimbursement up to the upper payment limit and pay for quality 
incentives for performing hospitals. 
 
Under the legislation, eligibility for the Children’s Basic Health Program will be 
increased from 205%-250% FPL.  Income eligibility for parents with children would be 
increased from 60% to 100% FPL.  In addition, new programs will be created that 
provide medical coverage to childless adults up to 100% FPL and provide for a Medicaid 
buy-in program for disabled individuals up to 450% FPL.  Finally, the legislation 

                                                           
23 See Assembly Bill 1422, approved by the Governor September 22, 2009. 
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includes provisions stipulating that if revenues from the provider fee are insufficient to 
fund these expansions, the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing is 
authorized to lower eligibility limits to meet funding levels.  Implementation of the new 
provider fee is dependent on obtaining CMS approval of the overall tax program and a 
waiver from the broad based requirement. 
 
 
C. Illinois 

 
In December of 2008, Governor Blagojevich signed Senate Bill 2857.  Under this 
agreement between Illinois and the federal government, the Illinois Department of 
Healthcare and Family Services (HFS) will distribute $1.55 billion in Medicaid payments 
to hospitals from the Hospital Provider Fund. From this distribution, the federal 
government sends Illinois $777 million in matching funds.  The state then collects $907 
million in taxes from hospitals.  Through this process, hospitals gain $655 million in 
increased funding.  The General Assembly has included SB 2857 in the FY09 budget. 
  
Illinois has previously received federal approval for two similar hospital assessment plans 
bringing nearly $2.3 billion in federal dollars to Illinois.  
  
HFS will distribute the money to hospitals during the course of the year in 12 equal 
payments.  The amount of money a hospital receives is based on the various services it 
provides to Medicaid patients.  Additional funding recognizes hospitals for obstetrical, 
psychiatric and rehabilitative services, and capital costs. 
  
The amount of money that each hospital receives is the same for the period of the 
assessment, which allows hospitals to plan for their cash flow from the program each 
year.  SB 2857 codifies a five year plan, which will be effective after being approved by 
CMS. 
 
 
D. Oregon 

 
Provider taxes allow Oregon to secure federal matching funds to finance Oregon’s 
Medicaid program and support payments to hospitals and Managed Care Organizations 
(MCOs).  Four new taxes – (1) Hospital tax; (2) Long Term Care Facility tax; (3) 
Managed Care organization; and (4) Tax on Programs for All-Inclusive Care for Elderly 
Persons – were first created by the Oregon Legislature in 2003.  In the 2007-2009 
bienniums, Oregon is expected to collect $215 million in provider taxes from hospitals 
and Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) to generate another $343 million in federal 
matching funds.  After the tax is assessed and collected, the monies are matched with 
$1.66 in federal Medicaid funds.   
 
The Director of the Department of Human Services determines the rate on each hospital 
subject to the tax, not to exceed the 3% cap limit of net revenue of each hospital.  Oregon 
received a CMS waiver from the “broad based” requirement to exclude certain hospitals 
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(mostly smaller, rural hospitals with less than 50 beds), hospitals operated by the U.S. 
Department of Veterans’ Affairs, and pediatric specialty hospitals that provide free care 
to children.   
 
In 2004, Oregon received federal approval to tax certain nursing facility patient days per 
bed.  The assessment equals the rate times the number of patient days at the long term 
care facility for a calendar quarter also established by the Director.  The Veterans’ home, 
nursing facilities with Medicaid utilization of 85% or more and nursing facility patient 
days in Continuing Care Retirement Communities are excluded. 
 
There is a proposal to expand provider taxes to draw down additional federal matching 
funds.  Examples of the expansion would be to raise the cap limit on hospital taxes to 4%.  
In addition, Oregon recently expanded its MCO tax to include all commercial insurers; 
previously, the tax was limited to Medicaid MCOs.24 
 
 

VI. APPLYING DIFFERENT PROVIDER ASSESSMENTS IN ARIZONA 

 
A. Existing Provider Taxes in Arizona 

 
Arizona currently has a health insurer tax based on 2% of premium revenues.  Originally, 
AHCCCS managed care plans were not included in that tax.  However, to ensure the tax 
was broad based, Arizona statutes were amended in 2003 and the premium tax was 
applied to AHCCCS health plans.25  From 2003 through 2008, the premium tax on 
Arizona’s AHCCCS health insurers generated over $575 million of which $390 million 
was federal matching dollars.  The table at Appendix C provides additional detail. 
 

 

B. Analysis of Different Provider Assessments for Federally Matched Programs 

 
Policy-makers have different methods or options of provider assessments that will result 
in varying revenue collection amounts.  Examples include: a tax on a percentage of 
hospital or nursing facility revenues; a per-bed tax that can be assessed on hospitals or 
nursing facilities; or expanding the health care insurer premium tax.26  These methods are 
discussed in more detail below and their revenue enhancing potential for Arizona is 
outlined in Appendix D. 
 

1. Tax on Revenues for Hospitals and Nursing Facilities 

 
A tax on gross revenues would assess a tax based on a percentage of a facility’s gross 
revenues.  The recently approved tax in Illinois is a 2.5% tax on gross revenues for 
inpatient and outpatient services.  One benefit of using gross revenues is that the data is 

                                                           
24 House Bill 2116, 75th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY, 2009 Regular Session. 
25 A.R.S. §§ 36-2905 and 36-2944.01. 
26 In addition, the existing premium tax on non-health care insurers can be increased and used as state 
match for the Medicaid program that would also yield federal matching dollars. 
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easily attainable; it is the total of a hospital’s billed charges before any contracts or 
allowances.  A tax on gross revenues could minimize the incentive for hospital charge-
master inflation.  
 
Alternatively the tax could be assessed on net revenues.  This would take into account 
and adjust for discounts provided to payers.  These amounts are also reported by 
hospitals.  
 
As there is currently no process for collecting hospital taxes, the administration of such a 
tax, if legislated, would have to be described in rule, documented in policy, staffed and 
resourced.  It is expected that this process could take twelve to fifteen months.  Revenues 
from such an assessment could be unpredictable.  However, considering Arizona’s 
increasing population and medical cost trends, revenues should rise from year to year. 
 
As a benchmark, a 1% tax on hospital net revenues would yield approximately $107 
million.   A tax on 1% of hospital gross revenues is projected to generate approximately 
$199 million.   For nursing facilities, a 1% tax on net revenues would generate 
approximately $10.8 million while a 1% tax on gross revenues would yield 
approximately $13 million.  Additional revenue detail and comparisons can be found at 
Appendix D for hospitals and nursing facilities.   
 
Any provider tax in excess of 5.5% of provider revenues is subject to additional 
regulations and testing by CMS.  Implementation of either a tax on gross revenues or a 
tax on beds would need methodology that would cap a provider’s tax at 5.5% of revenue. 
 
 2. Bed Tax on Hospitals and Nursing Facilities 

 
A “bed tax” imposes a provider assessment based on the number of beds licensed within 
a facility.  There are approximately 13,500 licensed hospital beds in Arizona and 15,800 
licensed nursing facility beds.  The number of licensed beds is reported to the Arizona 
Department of Health Services.   
 
Revenues from such a tax would be relatively easy to predict.  Hospitals and nursing 
facilities do not regularly change the number of beds in their hospital licensing data.  
New hospitals and nursing facilities and their licensing capacities are usually known in 
advance.  
  
Regarding hospitals, a bed tax would be a tax on the inpatient portion of hospital 
operations.  This tax would disregard all of the services that are provided by hospitals in 
outpatient settings.  As inpatient services have a slower growth curve than outpatient 
services, this methodology misses a large part of growing services for hospitals.  A 
benefit to this methodology, however, is that Critical Access Hospitals, which by design 
become more tertiary hospitals with an emphasis on outpatient services, would be less 
affected by a bed tax.  Arizona’s Critical Access Hospitals have smaller budgets and 
more vulnerable bottom lines than most of the other hospitals. 
 



 14 

Today, Medicaid pays nearly half of all nursing home care nationwide. In Arizona, 
AHCCCS pays 61% of all nursing facility bed days.  While AHCCCS pays the majority 
of nursing facility bed days, many Arizonans are private pay – 13% of Arizona’s nursing 
facility patients pay their own way.  Consequently, a bed tax on nursing facilities is more 
likely to be passed along to private pay residents than in the hospital setting.   
 
Because a bed tax is not currently in operation, resources would need to be allocated for 
its administration.  The timing and resources required to implement a bed tax would be 
similar to that of operating a tax on gross revenue described above taking twelve to 
fifteen months to implement.  
 
As an example of potential revenue, a $2,000 per bed/per year tax would generate about 
$25 million (this is the number of licensed beds above times $2000 per bed) per year 
from hospitals and about $31.5 million per year from nursing facilities, for combined 
revenues of $56.5 million.  A bed tax assessment on nursing facilities yields a larger 
percentage of federal participation because Medicaid is a larger percentage of state 
nursing facility bed days.    
 
Any provider tax in excess of 5.5% of provider revenues is subject to additional 
regulations and testing by CMS.  Implementation of either a tax on gross revenues or a 
tax on beds would need methodology that would cap a provider’s tax at 5.5% of revenue. 
 
 3. Premium Tax 

 
There are several components of the Premium Tax in Arizona.  In addition to the 2% 
premium levied on both commercial and Medicaid health insurance companies, current 
law also taxes life insurance and property and casualty at a 2% rate. 
  
Due to the economy, several of these components are predicted to decrease over the next 
couple of years.  In FY 2010, these components are anticipated to generate $322.5 
million with the Medicaid premium representing just under half of the tax levied. (See 
Appendix C.)     
 
Because this tax is already in existence, there would be minimal administrative cost for 
implementing a modest increase in the taxable percentage.  A 1% increase would yield 
approximately $161 million with roughly $78 million in increased Medicaid insurance 
premiums.   The State Match of roughly $26 million would need to be appropriated and 
deducted from the overall increase. These estimates assume that items currently over the 
2% rate, like vehicle premiums, are not adjusted upward.  Additionally, since health 
related items represent roughly 73% of the overall tax, an adjustment should require 
minimal CMS input and review.   
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C.  Consider a Distribution Formula for All Hospital Providers 

 
Any redistribution formula of a provider tax is a policy decision for the legislature and 
the Executive.  Providers may expect a portion of any new assessment be returned to 
them in some form.  This return on the provider’s investment serves to stabilize provider 
rates and offers some security for the overall healthcare delivery system, which has 
benefits beyond merely the Medicaid program.  However, any redistribution formula 
must be in line with the regulatory framework that has been established by Congress and 
CMS.   
 
The State cannot simply distribute funds to the providers.  The tax amount also cannot be 
returned to providers in the form of credits, grants or exclusions that have the effect of 
holding the taxpayer harmless.  Federal guidelines also mandate that provider taxes must 
be levied equally across an industry.  A tax on hospital beds or gross revenues, for 
instance, cannot be levied solely on hospitals that serve a high percentage of Medicaid 
patients.  Rather, a tax on hospitals would have to meet the federal requirements detailed 
above.  Certainly one of the major issues associated with a provider tax or assessment is 
the varying impact on facilities due to payer mix.  Appendix E has been included to 
provide an approximation of the net revenues by hospital and the percent of Medicaid bed 
days. 
 
The redistribution methodology is further complicated by the fact that AHCCCS cannot 
make any payments to providers directly outside of a managed care plan payment, except 
supplemental payments provided to hospitals, as in Disproportionate Share Hospital or 
Graduate Medical Education (GME) payments.  This is different from what some other 
states are able to do that have larger fee-for-service populations. 
 
If policymakers make the decision to use funding generated by a tax to enhance payments 
to providers, there are opportunities within the current reimbursement structure.  The tax 
revenues could be matched with federal Medicaid funds and used to cover increased 
inpatient per diem rates to account for recent rate freezes.  The funding could be 
dedicated to programs like GME or used to expand GME to cover Indirect Medical 
Education costs.  If Nursing Facilities were taxed and a decision was made to use the 
funds to support this provider type, the funding could be used to increase rates for this 
provider group as well. 
 
Accordingly, CMS would review any redistribution methodology on a case-by-case basis.   
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VII. CONCLUSION 

 
The federal government acknowledges states’ right to impose taxes on providers and 
insurers, and provides federal financial participation for those provider assessments 
through the Medicaid program.  To ensure that states are not attempting to circumvent 
their obligations for paying the non-federal share of the cost of Medicaid, federal law 
places strict requirements on state provider taxes – must be broad based, uniformly 
imposed, and cannot hold a provider harmless. 
 
Other states offer examples as to how a provider tax could be applied in Arizona.  State 
surveys suggest that provider taxes can serve as an important revenue stream, particularly 
during economic downturns when states experience significant increases in Medicaid 
enrollment.  Different models analyzed in this paper show that Arizona could gain 
significant revenue from application of a new provider tax or expansion of the existing 
premium tax. 
 
Ultimately, it is a policy decision for the legislature and the Executive to determine the 
ways in which revenues raised by provider taxes can be used and redistributed.  
Policymakers can choose among several types of provider assessments and select among 
various options for how best to use the enhanced revenue – reducing the State’s General 
Fund liability for the Medicaid program, funding non-Medicaid programs, reducing 
uncompensated care, stabilizing or increasing provider reimbursement rates.  Provider 
taxes can also be used as an alternate revenue source when the General Fund liability for 
the Medicaid program exceeds a certain threshold.  Likewise, there are various different 
methods for redistributing provider tax dollars.  Regardless, any policy decisions made by 
Arizona policymakers will have to be reviewed by CMS. 
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APPENDIX A: BUDGET NEUTRALITY SUMMARY 
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APPENDIX B: KAISER FAMILY FOUNDATION STATE SURVEY 

 

 Provider Taxes in Place in the 60 States and District of Columbia FY 2009 and FY 2010 

States Hospitals ICFIMR-DD 

Nursing 

Facilities 

Managed Care 

Organizations "Other" 

Any Provider 

Tax 

 2009 2010 2009 2010 2009 2010 2009 2010 2009 2010 2009 2010 

Alabama 

Alaska 

Arizona 

Arkansas 

California 

 

x 

X 

X 

X 

x 

x 

X 

x 

x 

X 

x 

X 

x 

x 

x x x 

x 
X 

x 

X 

x 
X 

x 

Colorado 

Connecticut 

Delaware 

District of Columbia 

Florida 

            

Georgia 

Hawaii 

Idaho 

Illinois 

Indiana 

x 
X 

x 
x x 

X 

x 

x 

x 

x 
x 

x 

x 
x 
x 

x 

 

x 

 

x 

x 
x 

x 

X 

X 

x 
X 

Iowa 

Kansas 

Kentucky 

Louisiana 

Maine 

            

Maryland 

Massachusetts 

Michigan 

Minnesota 

Mississippi 

X 

x 
x 
X 

x 

x 
x 
x 
x 
x 

x 

x 
x 

x 

x 
x 

x 
x 
x 
x 
x 

x 
x 
x 
x 
x 

x 

x 
x 

x 

x 

x x x 
x 
x 
x 
x 

x 
x 
x 
X 

x 

Missouri 

Montana 

• Nebraska 

Nevada 

New Hampshire 

            

New Jersey 

New Mexico 

New York 

North Carolina 

North Dakota 

X X 

X 

X 

x 

X 

x 
x 

x 

X 

x 

x 

X 

x 

x 
X 

x 
x x 

X 

x 

X 

x 
x 
X 

x 
x 

X 

X 

X 

X 

x 
. Ohio : 

OklahOma 

Oregon 

Pennsylvania 

Rhode Island 

            

South Carolina 

South Dakota 

Tennessee 

Texas 

Utah 

x x x 
X 

x 
x 
x 

x 
x 
x 
x 
x 

x 

x 

x 

x 

x 
x 

x 

x 
  

x 
x 
x 
x 
x 

X 

X 

x 

X 

x 
Vermont 

Virginia 

. Washington 

West Virginia 

Wisconsin 

Wyoming 

            

Total 23 26 28 31 35 37 16 11 10 11 45 45 

 
*Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, New York & Vermont all reported multiple "other' provider tax in both 2009 and 2010 

 

T H E  K A I S E R  C O M M I S S I O N  O N  

 Medicaid and the Uninsured 
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APPENDIX C: ARIZONA HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX REVENUE 

 

 

 

Arizona Health Insurance Premium Tax (IPT) Revenue  

1 Data Source -AHCCCS, DHCM Finance and Reinsurance 

2 Data Source -Insurance Premium Tax Forecast prepared by Department of Insurance  

Additional IPT Assessment Estimates  

  Percent of Tax Health Related                                                73%  

Data Source -FY 10 est. based on Insurance Premium Tax Forecast prepared by Department of Insurance  

 
Calendar Year             2003                        2004              2005                     2006                      2007                     2008 2009 est            2010 est  

Revenue Source  
  

1 Medicaid IPT  $21,032,400  $92,650,410       $102,683,996       $108,316,346  $116,858,738       $133,774,628      $144,095,534       $156,487,000  

FMAP          70.21%         68.72%           67.32%            66.84%            66.40%         68.57%    75.00%   75.00%  

Federal  $14,766,848  $63,667,445   $69,131,847     $72,403,781    $77,591,207  $91,733,763      $108,071,651    $117,365,250  

State    $6,265,552  $28,982,966  $33,552,149     $35,912,565    $39.267,531  $42.040,865  $36,023,884  $39,121,750  

2 Non-Medicaid IPT  $75.285.428  $78,087,905  $75,799,689     $81.016,768    $86.497,515  $83,860,662  $78,800,000  $75,700,000  

TOTAL 
  

$96.317.828       $170.738.315       $178.483.684 
  

  $189.333.113  
 

 $203.356.253        $217.635.290      $222.895.534       $232.187.000  
 

 

                                                      Current  FY 2010  
Category  Assessment  Estimate                   Additional1%  

Life Insurance  2.00%    $37,500,000  $18.750,000  

Accidental and Health  2.00%    $78,800,000  $39,400,000  
AHCCCS Plans  2.00%  $156,500,000  $78,250,000  
Other Property and Casualty            2.00%  $49,700,000          $24,850,000  

Totals  
 
 

 $322.500.000  
 
 

$161.250.000 
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APPENDIX D: POTENTIAL REVENUE FROM PROVIDER ASSESSMENT 

 

 

 

 

                        AZ Potential Revenue from Provider Assessment

Hospital Net Revenues and bed count from most recently filed Medicare Cost Report.  Nursing Facility 

Net Revenues and bed count from 2008 Universal Accounting Reports.  Where no reports (MCR or 

UAR) were filed, data is not included.  

 
Est First Year Total  

State Revenue  

Hospital 

Tax on Net Revenues  

0.25%  $26,750,000  

1.00%  $107,000,000  

Bed Tax   
$1,000/ bed  $12,541,000  

$2,000/ bed  $25,082,000  

$3,000/ bed  $37,623,000  

Nursing Facility  
 

Tax on Net Revenues   
1.00%  $10,811,275  

2.00%  $21,622,549  

5.00%  $32,433,824  

Bed Tax   
$1,000/ bed  $15,788,000  

$2,000/ bed  $31,576,000  

$3,000/ bed  $47,364,000  
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APPENDIX E: POTENTIAL ASSESSMENT FOR ARIZONA HOSPITALS 

Potential Assessment for Arizona Hospitals 

Hospital Name Net Revenue beds 
%AHCCCS
beddays 

1% Net 
Revenue Tax 

ST. JOSEPH S HOSPITAL & MED CTR $780,966,040 743 49% $7,809,660 
MAYO CLINIC HOSPITAL $638,774,110 196 3yo $6,387,741 

BANNER GOOD SAMARITAN MEDICAL CENTER $545,950,000 626 27% $5,459,500 

UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER $473,997,000 365 '41% $4,739,970 
BANNER DESERT MEDICAL CENTER $463,705,194 600 30% $4,637,052 
TUCSON MEDICAL CENTER $381,444,501 625 40% $3,814,445 
PHOENIX CHILDREN S HOSPITAL $373,885,668 • 290 54% $3,738,857 
SCOTTSDALE HEALTHCARE - SHEA $345,396,414 311 10% $3,453,964 
BANNER THUNDERBIRD $331,769,186 372 27% $3,317,692 
SCOTTSDALE HEALTHCARE - OSBORN $326,846,494 310 20% $3,268,465 
FLAGSTAFF MEDICAL CENTER $315,671,676 242 34% $3,156,717 
MARICOPA MEDICAL CENTER $282,043,906 586 61% $2,820,439 

CHANDLER REGIONAL HOSPITAL $272,270,282 147 24% $2,722,703 
SUN HEALTH BOSWELL HOSPITAL $271,481,644 430 9% $2,714,818 
BANNER BAYWOOD MEDICAL CENTER $258,572,669 242 20% $2,585,727 
YUMA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER $243,056,922 277 30% $2,430,569 
NORTHWEST MEDICAL CENTER $233,934,398 278 17% $2,339,344 

JOHN C. LINCOLN HOSPT-NORTH MOUNTAIN $226,062,267 262 30% $2,260,623 
CARONDELET ST MARY S HOSPITAL $224,599,896 301 21% $2,245,999 

CARONDELET ST. JOSEPH HOSPITAL $217,005,948 409 31% $2,170,059 
BANNER ESTRELLA MEDICAL CENTER $179,333,955 208 34% $1,793,340 
BANNER DEL E WEBB HOSPITAL $172,320,326 228 11% $1,723,203 
KINGMAN REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER $165,942,240 215 28% $1,659,422 
MERCY GILBERT MEDIAL CENTER $159,338,703 88 5% $1,593,387 
JOHN C. LINCOLN HOSPT-DEER VALLEY $155,427,508 127 26% $1,554,275 
YAVAPAI REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER $148,347,972 135 20% $1,483,480 

ST. LUKE S MEDICAL CENTER $142,642,883 85 28% $1,426,429 

WESTERN ARIZONA REGIONAL MEDICAL CEN $122,675,061 139 19% $1,226,751 
HAVASU REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER $121,445,363 119 16% $1,214,454 
VERDE VALLEY MEDICAL CENTER $118,013,536 99 23% $1,180,135 

BANNER BAYWOOD HEART HOSPITAL $107,909,886 60 9% $1,079,099 
PHOENIX BAPTIST HOSPITAL $107,781,862 216 51% $1,077,819 
ARROWHEAD COMMUNITY HOSPITAL $101,635,888 115 33% $1,016,359 
CASA GRANDE REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER $96,515,599 127 35% $965,156 
MARYVALE HOSPITAL MEDICAL CENTER $91,103,141 232 65% $911,031 
PARADISE VALLEY HOSPITAL $89,084,676 128 31% $890,847 
SIERRA VISTA REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER $88,910,470 82 29% $889,105 
WEST VALLEY HOSPITAL $84,837,374 157 37% $848,374 
ARIZONA HEART HOSPITAL $84,268,304 59 7% $842,683 
MOUNTAIN VISTA MEDICAL CENTER $84,057,709 178 13% $840,577 

MESA GENERAL HOSPITAL $82,160,341 78 44% $821,603 

NAVAPACHE REGIONAL MED. CTR. $79,188,405 66 38% $791,884 
NORTHWEST MEDICAL CENTER ORO VALLEY $85,589,874 96 17% $655,899 
GILBERT HOSPITAL $60,696,562 6 17% $606,966 
TUCSON HEART HOSPITAL $56,371,673 80 12% $563,717 
TEMPE ST. LUKES HOSPITAL $52,267,257 109 27% $522,673 
PAYSON REGIONAL MED CTR $51,574,112 44 22% $515,741 

THE UNIVERSITY PHYSICIANS HOSPITAL $49,437,107 190 36% $494,371 
VALLEY VIEW MEDICAL CENTER $46,808,413 60 9% $468,084 
MT. GRAHAM REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER $42,712,302 59 36% $427,123 

KINDRED HOSPITAL - PHOENIX $34,410,581 58 12% $344,106 
ST. LUKE S BEHAVIORAL HEALTH $32,441,330 225 17% $324,413 
SSH -ARIZONA INC. $29,491,726 29 9% $294,917 
ARIZONA ORTHOPEDIC SURGICAL HOSPITAL $29,402,859 27 2% $294,029 
COBRE VALLEY COMMUNITY HOSPITAL $28,736,035 49 41% $287,360 
BANNER GATEWAY MEDICAL CENTER $25,833,141 176 34% $258,331 
CARONDELET HOLY CROSS HOSPITAL $23,829,795 31 54% $238,298 
SOUTHERN ARIZONA REHAB HOSPITAL $21,287,017 60 9% $212,870 

HS REHAB INSTITUTE OF TUCSON $20,964,087 80 12% $209,641 
LITTLE COLORADO (WINSLOW) $20,420,925 34 58% $204,209 
ARIZONA SPINE AND JOINT HOSPITAL $18,388,555 18 1% $183,886 
SURGICAL SPECIALTY HOSPITAL OF ARIZ° $17,574,048 33 10% $175,740 
VALLEY OF THE SUN REHAB CENTER $17,260,310 60 9% $172,603 
HEALTHSOUTH SCOTTSDALE REHAB HOSPITA $16,683,392 46 5% $166,834 
KINDRED HOSPITAL - TUCSON $15,990,396 51 12% $159,904 
PAGE HOSPITAL $15,597,405 25 64% $155,974 
SSH - PHOENIX $14,608,339 48 11% $146,083 

LA PAZ REGIONAL HOSPITAL $14,113,407 39 18% $141,134 
PROMISE HOSPITAL OF PHOENIX INC. $12,759,633 40 22% $127,596 
YUMA AZ REHAB $12,608,090 41 5% $126,081 

SAGE MEMORIAL HOSPITAL $12,248,941 45 50% $122,489 
COPPER QUEEN COMM. HOSP. $12,132,831 13 24% $121,328 
N. COCHISE COMM. HOSPITAL $11,664,723 24 21% $116,647 
MOUNTAIN VALLEY REGIONAL REHAB $11,519,404 40 12% $115,194 

WHITE MOUNTAIN REGIONAL MEDICAL CTR $11,121,783 16 25% $111,218 
CORNERSTONE HOSP OF SE ARIZONA $10,725,980 34 14% $107,260 

BENSON HOSPITAL $9,377,468 22 20% $93,775  
TOTAL 810.717.024.918     12,541 21%    $107.170.249 

 

Data for evaluation of methodology only; hospitals where revenue or utilization data was not available are not Included in this report. 

Estimates are a proxy based on most recently filed Medicare Cost Reports 


